Day 4

.
Well, the longest stretch in a very long time. Cruising, that’s how today felt. It might be cheating just a bit because I did avoid some social engagements and it’s 9:15 and I’m in bed. But, whatever. I didn’t drink. And it was OK.

Went to a GA meeting today. Saw my sponsor. She had a new grandbaby yesterday.

I find her very hard to communicate with. And she’s a bit domineering. I’m going to remind open minded. I don’t have to decide anything right now. She did give me a guide to the fourth step. I’m going to do it and share all my junk with the kindly Orthodox Jew.

After the meeting, I offered to give another gal a ride back to her treatment center. She then asked if we could get lunch and stop at a store first. I was momentarily peeved until I realized I was hungry anyway and the meeting ended about 45 minutes ahead of schedule. So lunch and shop we did.

Conversation with other GA folks can be hard for me because I actually want to overshare. But we had a fine enough time with only a few awkward moments around suicide attempts (her), losing custody (her), how my therapist doesn’t really agree with what GA has told me (me) and smoking meat (me again).

But I got in some human-to-human time, so I could check off that box, for today anyway, even if I did blow off a friend’s art show thing tonight.

Dear lord, thank you for making day 4 such a breeze. Can I get a repeat for tomorrow? Also please help me remain open minded, honest with myself and others and willing to change.

I spent most of today in the yard with my new leaf blower/mulcher clearing out the debris of last year. Sticks and stones, and leaves and dirt and trash. It was therapeutic on many levels.

But I hit the wall around 7, and tried not to think about all that was undone I made it through my first sober Saturday in a long while, but I’m under no illusion that my first sober Sunday will be easy. on my list. Tomorrow is another day.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Whooo - cravings

Seemingly out of nowhere. It’s my brain thinking, “Well, since you’re off the sauce again, how about we gamble?” I’m doing tax stuff itemizing for 2013 and the list of gambling losses is … triggery. Like, “I spent $1200 in one day; what’... Continue →