Defeated

Thinking about the hellacious week ahead, and I already feel defeated. I’ve got a staff member on vacation, so it’s a lot of long hours and way too much freelance work on top of it. Well, at least I got the bulk of what I wanted done in the garden.

Husband’s day off, so we had people over -dear, lovely friends but I still felt a bit resentful because I have So. Much. To. Do. Plus, historically we have always gotten rip roaring when they’re in town. But they are dear and lovely and easy. And I stayed sober, nobody batted an eye.

But I did beg out early … not rudely early, like 8:45. But I was whooped from garden work and in anticipation of the week ahead.

But that’s ok. I stayed sober. 53 days. And I stayed sober yesterday, too, when I was at a pool party. I left that early, too, but I didn’t feel jealous when I heard the party raged until midnight (it started at noon). No, I felt grateful I didn’t wake up hungover.

This might be the new normal: ducking out early so I can get up early. And I think I’m ok with that.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Straying

62 days without a drink, and 70 days without a bet. Damn. And, yet, what I find myself doing is deviating from the very thigns that helped get me to this point. The cravings are back and powerful. Gambling dreams, rationalization that I... Continue →