Everybody Needs a Little Forgiveness

A day after the storm abated, and I’m left with the message of forgive but don’t forget. I can forgive my boss, sure, but I’ve said it before and I need to keep saying it until the guilt eases: I don’t need to stick around for the next time.

I had an illuminating thought tonight. I was so afraid to stop drinking and feared what lay on the other side, worried about judgment, failure, boredom, scrambling, unknowing. And, of course, what I’ve been finding is that it I’m so grateful for the prod to stop because things are much better on this side. All the same things exist, but it’s just easier to manage them.

I suspect there’s a parallel to leaving my job for something new. I can’t stay at my job for my boss’ approval because she’s already told me she doesn’t approve of a significant amount of what I say or do. So.

At this point, lord, I just give you this resentment I harbor and ask you to turn it into love and acceptance and courage. Please help me to remain honest with myself and others, open minded and willing to change, particularly my situation. Thank you, and thank you for the sweet new baby in our family.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Mom

Had a sad, graphic dream about my mom last night. No better, no worse than what happened in real life. But I suppose that’s the key: It made me relive what happened in real life, and I awoke in the midst of an “oh, fuck, what do I... Continue →