Productive

Today, I got everything on my list done that I set out to do in the yard. But it took enacting some new behaviors that I wouldn’t have employed had I been drinking.

  1. I got up early. (Despite being up late last night, I was up when I set my alarm, which would not have happened had I been hangin’.)

  2. I didn’t have a beer with my chores, despite it being an exquisite day to drink and do yard work.

  3. When “the party” started at our house, I wasn’t done with my tasks so I said hello and graciously excused myself to finish up while the others got going on their drinking.

  4. When I felt weird or not like talking, I got up and walked away. I even took the dog for a walk for a little space. I took care of me and listened to my own needs … and no one cared (in a good way).

  5. I didn’t stress out about things. I didn’t spend all day cleaning before and I let my husband and his friend clean up … and it was fine.

  6. I didn’t drink and, again, I was funny and nice and all the things I thought I was when drinking.

  7. When I was ready to retreat to bed, I said my goodnights and no one currrrrrrrrr … again, in the best way.

So, it’s now 10:15 in the midst of a long holiday weekend, and I am sober and in bed, and I am happy about that. Why? Because I will wake up early again tomorrow and attempt to cross a bunch more things off my list.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Not Great but …

All right, I’m drunk. Not DRUNK, but drunk, and wishing I wasn’t. Not because I did anything bad or dumb or weird, but because I think if I weren’t drunk, I’d be one step closer to not married. I keep thinking I need some sober clarity... Continue →