A Whole New World

There is a whole new world that exists after 7 p.m. It’s 10:29, and I just got home from a 1.8 mile run. Before that I made dinner for my siblings. Before that, I faced down reality and spent 90 minutes with an accountant and wrote out the first of many triple-digit checks. We may hit $1,000 before it’s all said and done, but I’ll be free. Not free from the repercussions, but free from the unknowing, the looming worry, the fear, the constant guilt. Yeah, free from that.

So, 21 days safely in the box. Three solid weeks, solid being the operative word.

I don’t have enough time these days. I ducked out of work early at 3:30 and haven’t stopped since. It’ll be 11:00 before I sit down and have a breather.

Now, I’m not saying I like this hectic pace long-term, but it’s an important reminder to me right now about just how much I can accomplish when I’m not jumping down the bottle.

I have probably watched an hour of TV in the past 10 days. One hour. 21 days ago, it was routine for me to watch 5 to 6 hours in a day. A day. Wow.

Amazing how quickly things can change; it gives me a lot of hope about my financial woes.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Regrets - or Not

Went to a GA meeting last night after a loooong day of work because that’s what I needed. The medicine analogy is a little worn out by now, but it’s fucking true. Sometimes you take medicine because you have active symptoms and it makes... Continue →