Collections

At each meeting, they take donations to support the GA organization. It’s always made clear that no one should feel obligated to give and, yet, I always feel obligated to give. There have been many times when I truly didn’t have a dollar to give. Tonight is one of those nights.

I have the money in my allowance account on a card, but I don’t have any cash. I think part of my resistance to going to the meeting is not being able to plunk a dollar bill in the basket. That’s just dumb. No one cares if I do or don’t except me.

That’s a pretty common kind of thought in my head: “Everyone else is doing X but I can’t. What will they think of me?”

Bring on the stress. Bring on the anxiety. Bring on the fear.

Well, I’m taking my dollar-less ass to the meeting, anxiety be damned.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Feels Like It Should Be More

65 days, wow. 65 days, but I’m already imagining what caving looks like. “I made it 65 days - willingly, happily. Clearly, I don’t have a problem. Let’s drink!” Something’s wrong with that picture. Part of it is that I’m so excited by... Continue →