Hey, Brain

Had a fleeting thought of, “I could go gamble today. I have the car.”

I’m starting to connect that these thoughts (along with, “I could drink today.”) tend to come when I feel like my time is not my own, specifically when work is demanding and/or I take on too many tasks for other people (freelance, family, friends).

My brain seems to think that when I’m busy, the best escape is gambling away thousands of dollars I don’t have or drinking down tens of dollars I do have but that make me feel like shit.

Hey, Brain. How about the next time you’re feeling over-worked, send me a signal to take a time out, breathe deep and rest? That’ll work out better for everyone.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

This is Familiar

So, day 1 again. I was at a steady clip on day 5 but just basically decided, “Fuck it. I’ll have a beer. I don’t even like beer, but I want one.” That rolled into another beer, and then cucumber fizz drink and then several glasses of... Continue →