Pump Your Brakes

How am I doing today? I don’t know. I guess bored. Ready to go home. My husband seems distracted, and I wonder what’s behind it. Probably nothing except that we’re both working too much and miss each other.

I had a thought today. This has probably been the hardest week for me workwise but I made it through without drinking and gambling. One more thing off my list of fears. I guess I’m starting to realize that not drinking can be as easy a default as drinking was. I mean, I don’t feel magically better these days but I can trust that what I’m feeling is honest.

Interestingly, I’m going to see my friends Saturday and everyone knows I won’t be drinking. I am actually looking forward to this get together more than I would be if I was drinking. I’m not sure I can articulate why exactly; I just know it’s true. That’s good.

So, good, if not a little ho-hum. I suppose that’s life, eh?

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Precipice

I’m in that spot where I feel as though things are about to change for the better, but I know it’s not quite time and I especially don’t know what the change will be - simply that it’s all going to work out for the best. My job isn’t to... Continue →