Sick Again

This being sick sober is hard. As I typed that, I realized what a dumbass thing it sounds like but if you know what I’m talking about, then you know what I’m talking about.

It hit me out of nowhere today: feverish, light headed, short of breath, dizzy, achy, no energy. Hot, like I had sunburn, but I didn’t. Sweating like I’d run up 10 flights of stairs when I hadn’t.

It made me SO angry that my body couldn’t do what I wanted it to do (gardening) and I was relegated instead to the couch and then a cool bath,back to the couch and now finally to bed. I’m so mad I had to piss away a day to being sick and goddamn it to hell if I’m not better tomorrow. The only reason I took it easy today (ok, fuck, fine, two reasons) was that I was worried I might pass out and I have so much I need to get done tomorrow that I can’t afford to make myself worse.

It feels like a chest cold that’s fucking with me, which is to say a chest cold with some fun fever and body aches. I don’t get sick very often, so I typically don’t handle it well when I do.

Can you believe I used to willingly drink so much that I KNEW I’d wake up feeling this way? I mean, shit. On purpose. I can’t even begun to imagine how much worse I’d be right now if I’d tied one on last night.

47 days of no hangovers. Incredible. Lord, just give me the strength to rest and recuperate soberly. Thank you - very nice work on the weather this weekend by the way.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Loop

I hadn’t talked to my dad for a while, about six weeks. We don’t talk ever day or even every week, but that’s a long time for us. Mostly just busy, slightly depressed. The usual. When I did call, I felt a bit of a guilt trip (or just... Continue →